Gluten Free: Chocolate and Cheese

September 6, 2014 Food Articles/ReviewsShopping Lists and Home Page Posts  No comments

chocolate

by Regan Olson

There’s a lot of misinformation out there about chocolate and cheese (blue cheese in particular) and it needs to go by the way side. People who are gluten-intolerant, gluten-sensitive, or have celiac disease must limit themselves enough as it is, so I’m including links to a couple of very well written About articles by expert Jane Anderson to set the record straight.

What chocolate is safe to eat?

Is blue cheese safe to eat?

I’m encouraging you to not be dissuaded by gluten-free alarmists (and they’re out there), who might be well-intended, but who perhaps haven’t done enough reading/research. It’s appreciated that people are trying to get the word out and help other non-gluten-free eaters understand what it means to “be gluten-free”, but let’s base this understanding on facts, realizing there are individual differences between people who maintain a gluten-free diet. Cross contamination may really be an issue for some, but not so much for others.

This discernment is becoming more important as the food industry evolves to meet growing demands. For example, it may not be necessary to buy “gluten-free chocolate” if the chocolate is already gluten-free. (And some are!) Would you buy a gluten-free Hershey’s bar if the recipe and production process to make the chocolate is the same as the original? Changing the label/packaging of such foods to reflect a gimmick created by way of misinformation puts a dent in pocketbooks unnecessarily (as GF labeled items often cost more) and causes further confusion. Please share this article with others who would benefit from it and let’s separate the wheat from the chaff – so to speak.

Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>